From December 1, 2022, to November 30, 2023, India will hold the G20 Presidency.

Over 200 G20 meetings are anticipated to be held in India during its Presidency, which will start in December 2022. On September 9 and 10, 2023, in New Delhi, the G20 Leaders’ Summit will be held at the level of Heads of State/Government.

The G20, or Group of Twenty, is an intergovernmental organization that brings together the major industrialized and developing economies of the world. This group consists of the European Union (EU) and 19 additional countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The G20 is the foremost forum for global economic cooperation because its members collectively represent 85% of the global GDP, 75% of international trade, and two-thirds of the world’s population. India is currently a member of the trio of G20 nations—Indonesia, Italy, and India—that are currently holding, have previously held, and will soon hold the G20 presidency. India, Indonesia, and Brazil would make up the troika during the Presidency. The troika would include three emerging economies and developing nations for the first time, giving them a stronger voice.

The G20 currently consists of:

(i) Finance Track, with 8 workstreams (Global Macroeconomic Policies, Infrastructure Financing, International Financial Architecture, Sustainable Finance, Financial Inclusion, Health Finance, International Taxation, Financial Sector Reforms)

(ii) Sherpa Track, with 12 workstreams (Anti-corruption, Agriculture, Culture, Development, Digital Economy, Employment, Environment and Climate, Education, Energy Transition, Health, Trade and Investment, Tourism)

(iii) 10 Engagement Groups of the private sector, civil society, and independent bodies (Business 20, Civil 20, Labour 20, Parliament 20, Science 20, Supreme Audit Institutions 20, Think 20, Urban 20, Women 20, and Youth 20).

Along with G20 Members, it has become customary for the G20 Presidency to invite some guest nations and international organizations (IOs) to its G20 meetings and summit. As a result, in addition to the regular international organizations (UN, IMF, World Bank, WHO, WTO, ILO, FSB, and OECD) and the chairs of regional organizations (AU, AUDA-NEPAD, and ASEAN), India, as the G20 Presidency, will also be inviting Bangladesh, Egypt, Mauritius, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Singapore, Spain, and UAE as guest countries, as well as the International Solar Alliance, the Coalition for Disaster Resili

In the process of finalizing G20 priorities, ongoing discussions are focused on inclusive, equitable, and sustainable growth; LiFE (Lifestyle for Environment); women’s empowerment; digital public infrastructure and tech-enabled development in areas ranging from health, agriculture, and education to commerce, skill-mapping, culture, and tourism; climate financing; a circular economy; global food security; energy security; green hydrogen; disaster risk reduction and resilience; developmental cooperation; the fight against economic crime; and multilateral reforms.

Source :

Image Source : G20 INDIA Facebook